Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Barn Finds > ChampCar World Series

Old 17 Apr 2002, 20:19 (Ref:263455)   #1
macdaddy
Veteran

Canada
St.Catharines Ontario
macdaddy has a real shot at the podium!macdaddy has a real shot at the podium!macdaddy has a real shot at the podium!macdaddy has a real shot at the podium!
Me

Hey...
I've been hanging around here for awhile now, and have come to know all of you only by your login names. So I'm bored, and I thought it would be interesting, even fun, to introduce ourselves a little...

My name is Greg, and I was born in 68, so you do the math. I'm married, and have been blessed with two wonderful kids. Alyssa is four in July, and Sarah two in June. Needless to say, I'm kept pretty busy. I'm a "scratch" baker by trade, specializing in breads and rolls. Been doing that for eleven years now. My college education in accounting didn't end up being anything but a waste of money. (Our fine Canadian breweries saw to it that I didn't complete the degree anyway).

I've watched every Indy 500 since I was old enough to turn on the TV. Don't really know why... neither my dad nor any of my friends took any interest at all. But every year I would mark it on my calendar. Early on I was a Mario fan, and Pancho Carter to some degree, but soon I became very much a Rick Mears fan.

But not until I went to my first live event, the Marlboro 500 at MIS in 1992, did I become a "fanatic". I had no idea at the time, but it ended up being Rick's last race, and so maybe it was fate. Anyway, I was totally enthralled. The speeds, the noise, the atmosphere, things that cannot be portrayed on TV. Since that day, I have not missed coverage of single CART event. Actually, that's not completely true. There was a power outage during the German race last season, and my VCR lost it's programming. Again, fate. I'm glad I missed it.