Home  
Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Single Seater Racing > National & International Single Seaters

Old 19 Apr 2002, 09:38 (Ref:264637)   #1
D Fleming
Rookie

D Fleming should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
F1 Scholarship

Hi all.

What would you do for a shot at F1? My name is David Fleming. I'm organising a scholarship which might just allow you to do that. I have a background in F1 marketing and I know how things work (I think!). You may have read about this in Autosport and on the motorsport portals back in November. I'm about to do a feature in Autosport about it and would like a bit more feedback from drivers and/or total novices. I'd like anecdotes about why you haven't made it yet, budget troubles, once on track have you been surprised how little competition there is, what your goal is, what you'd do to get to F1, etc. etc.

We're about to launch our scholarship and I want to start people talking!

To make a long story short, the winner of the scholarship will go from zero to F3000 without stopping and a $1,000,000 budget to get him/her a test in an F1 and a management team working to get them a full-time drive in F1. The ONLY thing that will stop their progress is if they can't deliver the goods.

I feel this scholarship is very important for motorsport. Despite all the money and successful businesses in the industry, nobody is helping people at the absolute grass-roots level.

I'm also running a sponsorship scheme on which I've already had some feedback from you. This will be up and running soon as a secondary service to the scholarship scheme. Thanks for your help on that too. Apologies to anyone I didn't get back to as I lost some e-mails to a virus.

I really look forward to your comments.

dfleming@motorsportpr.com

Regards.

David
Old 19 Apr 2002, 09:49 (Ref:264648)   #2
Stephen Green
Race Official
Veteran

England
Faversham, Kent