Home  
Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Racing Technology

Old 6 Aug 2007, 20:58 (Ref:1982878)   #1
Ogami musashi
Racer

Ogami musashi has a lot of promise if they can keep it on the circuit!
Drag while cornering

Dear members,

I'm relatively new to the world of auto racing and went to it by growing interest in formula 1.
I come from the military aviation world.

While browsing the downforce topic on racing cars i went to do comparison with fighter planes.

While turning the main obstacle of faster turn rate for a plane is the induced drag at first then also profile drag for some %.

I asked myself, is it the same with cars?

In fact while comparing former group-c/GTP/sports 3.5l levels of downforce with today F1 cars ones i couldn't answer why those prototypes cars that had for some about twice or three time the level of downforce of F1 cars (some having only 250kg more) and equivalent if not better L/D ratio, didn't match the F1 cars times around a track and especially in corners where they couldn't beat the 5+G lateral acceleration possibilities of today f1cars.

One explanation i thought about, was maybe that the vastly superior power/weight ratio of F1 cars allowed them to go faster in corners.

Any idea?

Thank you.
Old 6 Aug 2007, 21:32 (Ref:1982907)   #2
phoenix
Veteran

European Union
phoenix should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridphoenix should be qualifying in the top 5 on the grid
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ogami musashi
Dear members,

I'm relatively new to the world of auto racing and went to it by growing interest in formula 1.
I come from the military aviation world.

While browsing the downforce topic on racing cars i went to do comparison with fighter planes.

While turning the main obstacle of faster turn rate for a plane is the induced drag at first then also profile drag for some %.

I asked myself, is it the same with cars?