Home  
Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: FlagMarshal.com MarshalsGuide.com Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Marshals Forum

View Poll Results: How did you learn your flag rules?
Marshals training sessions only 2 2.63%
Marshals training sessions and on post instruction 26 34.21%
Marshals training sessions, on post instruction and reading the rule book myself 28 36.84%
Osmosis (just picked 'em up) 15 19.74%
Self-taught from rule book 1 1.32%
other 4 5.26%
Voters: 76. You may not vote on this poll

Old 17 Aug 2007, 09:23 (Ref:1990794)   #1
chezza
Veteran

England
Shrewton, Wiltshire
chezza should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridchezza should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridchezza should be qualifying in the top 5 on the grid
In answer to EP's question...I learnt my flag signals through training days and also from picking up things on the bank, if I hadn't got involved in the organising side of things, or been around drivers a lot I probably wouldn't even know what the blue book is, let alone have a copy at my disposal (as sec of the meeting I have to have a copy available).

Now the MSA is overhauling the blue book for 2008 (iirc) so maybe it is time we asked for a clarification on the flagging signals.

Also as we all know, and I'm sure Sam will agree with me on this one, some of the regulations in the blue book are very ambiguous and are open to individual interpretation, so I don't think you can take it as gospel anyway.

Another point is that unfortunately all marshals think they know the flags and flag signals, and are quick to criticise others when there is poor flagging etc, however anyone who has had a go I'm sure will agree that it is very hard to get correct 100% of the time.
Old 17 Aug 2007, 10:37 (Ref:1990828)   #2
JimW
Veteran

United Kingdom
Worcestershire, UK